The Gate of Pafos is one of the three entrances to the walls built by the Venetians around the city of Nicosia and is considered the most "informal" of them.
It seems as a "simple opening" on the Venetian walls of Nicosia with a vaulted roof. Although it is a simple construction, it is the center of a region that has been partially formed due to it, which is of particular importance to Nicosia.
Photo: Costas Mageiroudes
In 1878, during the British occupation, part of the walls between the Gate and Bastion was demolished so as to open a new opening. The Pafos Gate Police Station is just above the original gate.
Photo: Maria Pavlou
It is important to mention that the "Pafos Gate Area" has a rich variety of monuments that testify to the city's rich history and highlight the complex heritage of the Latin Quarter, the Armenian Quarter, the Maronite Metoch, etc. Some of its elements are unique throughout the island.
Photo: Savvas Nicolaou
The road that began just outside the gate led southwest to Pafos, from where it got its name. It was also known as the gate of San Domenico because it replaced an older gate of the Frankish walls, called 'Porta di San Domenico', from the San Domenico Abbey that was nearby.
Photo: Maria Schick
For the map of the area, click HERE